Sunday Sips: Botswain Douple IPA Twin Screw Steamer

Hey guys,

Its been another good week. I feel like I’ve got a lot accomplished and been really busy. I got to see my parents yesterday and we had a great time out on the Mississippi. We were bumming around Dubuque Iowa. Now today we’ve had a somewhat lazy day after church. I say somewhat because its been really busy, but in a relaxed manner. I smoked some tofu and made homemade mac and cheese to go along with grilled zucchini for lunch. Pretty amazing and gave me that BBQ flavor I’ve been craving. As for the rest of the day I spent a lot of time trying to find movie clips to use as my intros to Men’s Fraternity. Its a group that I’m part of at church that really uses the bible to talk about what it really means to be a man. We’ve got a lot of guys that don’t really know or have never been taught in the world today so its a ministry I’m super behind.

All that leads me to now, I was like its mega hot outside, I could go for a cold one so I cracked open this bottle of the Double IPA Twin Screw Steamer courtesy of Trader Joes. This was their own label, so I know that someone else made it for them and it got repackaged.

Boatswain Double IPA

Nice big bottle of the bubbly stuff (which it had nice carbonation). It poured a really dark amber which seemed inviting. Not a lot of head, fairly light in color, maybe closer to a light straw mixed with a bit of white, that is kind of hard to get out of the picture against our yellow table. Anyway, the lacing was good, it was a full bodied beer and a bit on the heavier side at 8.4% ABV. It took its namesake of being a double IPA and was loaded with hops weighing in at 75 IBUs. This was not a light beer. But where to go from here. Lets start with the nose… The nose was completely unremarkable, I mean like there was hardly anything there, I thought it almost smelled metallic (possibly a sign of a beer that sat too long?) And the taste was definitely bitter, but more like a burnt bitter, no crispness from the hops. Just a poorly rounded beer, though the mouth feel was pretty nice. I’ll be honest with you all, I didn’t finish it, I just didn’t feel like wasting my time on a drink I didn’t love. I’m giving this a 1.5 out of 5. Steer clear or be happy to tell me that I just got a skunky old beer. I don’t know, but I didn’t care for it at all.

Now onto better things, Jacks made some chocolate chip donuts… YUM!

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: Botswain Douple IPA Twin Screw Steamer

  1. Wow, that’s really disappointing. I can’t stand when I get a terrible beer. Thankfully I’ve avoided a beer so bad I didn’t finish it yet, but terrible…

    I wonder who brewed it for TJ’s? They’re a California company, so maybe Sierra Nevada? Crying shame Nick, I’ll hoist one for you special in tribute.

    1. Ha for real, a true shame. Back in the day when I first started this, I really only wanted to review good beer. I’ve now realized though that its just as important for me to tell people what beers to avoid. You caused me to go look… It was Minhas Craft Brewery out of Monroe Wisconsin. Which really leads me to wonder if this was a midwest only beer. In any case I’m still telling you to steer clear. Better luck for me next time. 🙂

Comments are closed.