Happy Labor Day, and aplogies for a lack of posts

Its Labor Day, and the weather here has turned gorgeous. Its seriously been one of the best days ever. Jackie and I have been outside enjoying it and I’ve been in the kitchen whipping up a storm of good foods (Potato, Corn and Kale Chowder, pasta sauce, pizza, cookies maybe?). Its been a fairly busy weekend around here and I missed my Sunday Sips yesterday. We were spending time with Jackie’s sister and went and saw “World’s End”. I thought about doing a review of that for Sunday Sips. It is a beer drinking movie after all. It was a pretty good movie, lots of funny parts, but definitely stupid. If the actors weren’t British it would have been terrible.

A slightly belated Sunday Sips would have me reviewing Original Sin cider that we tried last night around a fire. The premise behind this cider was that it was made with heirloom apples grown from a strain that Thomas Jefferson was said to have partaken in. It was a very dry, crisp cider. It almost bordered on a wine in the dryness. It was very refreshing and had a nice bite to it. We found it at world market. I would give it a good recommendation if you stumbled across it and like cider. For me it was a 3.5 out of 5.

Untitled

We’ve been somewhat uninspired lately, but both Jackie and I do want to get back to blogging more, so lets see if I can’t do a little recap of the past week, we’ve had some good times.

Last weekend we went to Dubuque, Iowa and went on a Mississippi river cruise with my parents. I talked a bit about it in my Sunday Sips from last week if I recall correctly. It was another nice day out there, certainly warmer than today. Jackie and I got some cute pictures of ourselves though. πŸ™‚

DSC_0053

The next day after church we stopped at the gardens and snapped a few more pictures… Because Jackie was looking super cute in her stichfix top.

Untitled

We took Basil out for a jaunt when we were looking to buy an 8 year old crutches for her birthday… Long story, but she’s crazy, her brother needed some after an accident and she fell in love with his crutches that were too big for her. Basil was so HOT. But he had a lot of fun.

Untitled

Not to be outdone by the fact that we’ve done some more exciting things lately, we’ve also started to get some more exciting food again. I smoked some tofu and made some mac&cheeze to go along with grilled Zucchini. Now that was awesome, it hit my BBQ fix.

Untitled

The other day Jacks whipped up some vegan biscuits with some veggie gravy… The next morning I decided that needed to be turned into a breakfast… DIVINE. Mmmm, Gardein sausages, biscuits, gravy and hashbrowns. It was so delish.

Untitled

So hopefully with all this going on, we’ll get back to being more regular on here. Thanks to all you regulars who have stuck through things with us. Would love to hear from you all as to what you missed the most. πŸ˜‰ But seriously, back to the blogging, and have a wonderful Labor Day.

