CSA Pizza Sauce

Its CSA day.  I absolutely love that day where we go and pick up all the wonderful veggies that God has blessed the Grinnell Heritage Farm with on any given week.   This year has been a year of abundance for a few crops.  The first was cucumbers (I’ve had more than I care for there), the second bumper crop has been tomatoes.  (We also got watermelon, onions, garlic, hot peppers, carrots, edamame and an eggplant this week.)
Untitled

Wow have we been blessed with good tomatoes.  Now sometimes its great to just eat a raw tomato, but I’ve turned most into Pizza Sauce or Pasta Sauce.  I did one batch of salsa but I prefer my method using canned tomatoes there.  I’ve been really happy with the sauce recipes as there is something so magical about cooking down a tomato to bring out its natural sugars and acidity.  So, I thought I’d share the pizza sauce recipe with you all.  This is super easy and quite fantastic.  I based it off a recipe from Kitchen Treaty.  (I want to give them the props, I changed very little other than altering some proportions.)

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
4 cloves garlic minced
1 small onion sliced thinly
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon italian seasoning (I know you double up some oregano)
2 pounds of diced tomatoes
1/2 teaspoon of sugar
3/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I just eyeball it because I like a lot of heat, obviously cut down to your preference)
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon fresh cracked black pepper

Pizza Sauce

Instructions:
1. Heat Olive Oil in a sauce pan/dutch oven over medium low heat
2. Add Garlic, onion and dried seasonings and cook until fragrant about 1-2 minutes, allowing the onion to become somewhat translucent.
3. Increase the heat to medium and add remaining ingredients. Heat to a boil stirring occasionally.
4. Reduce heat to low for a simmer, simmer uncovered for an hour and a half.
5. Whir it all up with an immersion blender or proceed in batches in a blender. (Or all at once in a Vitamix/Blendtec)
6. Get that on some dough and get cooking.

What’s your favorite way to use up tomatoes?

Let's hear it!

