Coconut Oil Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan & gluten free)

Sometimes it seems like there are a billion chocolate chip cookies recipes out there. But the thing I love about chocolate chip cookies is that you can always keep trying new things, adding this or that, or substituting ingredients. I came across a recipe for chocolate chip cookies using coconut oil in place of the butter. I’m always looking for new ways to incorporate coconut oil, so I jumped at the chance to try these out. And I wanted to make them gluten free to boot. I found a huge bag of gluten free all–purpose flour at Costco for $8 or something. I HAD to try it! Sometimes you have play it by ear, and I did with these cookies, but the result was nothing short of delicious. The first day they are crispy on the outside, super chewy in the middle. In the next few days they were were just super chewy. JUST the way I like my chocolate chip cookies! I baked half of the dough the first day, and refrigerated the rest to see how they would turn out. Same result both times! I just set the cookie dough out while my oven came to temperature. I hope you give these a try! They’re not necessarily “healthy”, but much more so with no (vegan) butter! Here’s to coconut oil!

Vegan/gluten free coconut oil chocolate chip cookies

Coconut Oil Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan & gluten free)
3/4 cup coconut oil, in solid form
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup evaporated cane juice
Egg replacer equal to 1 egg (I used Ener-G)
1 flax egg (1T ground flaxseed + 2T warm water, whisked together)
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/4 cup all-purpose gluten free flour (I used Namaste)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp kosher salt
6-8 T almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla)
2 cups vegan chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Make your “eggs” and set aside. Beat together coconut oil and sugars until light and fluffy. Add “eggs” one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Mix in vanilla. Add flour, baking powder and salt a bit at a time. Stir in chocolate chips. Add almond milk until everything comes together. I ended up using 8 T. Scoop dough and place on prepared baking sheet. Bake for 12 minutes, until set. Let sit on baking sheet for 5 minutes before moving to a cooling rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

Vegan/gluten free coconut oil chocolate chip cookies

Enjoy!

One thought on “Coconut Oil Chocolate Chip Cookies (vegan & gluten free)

Comments are closed.