Seatte vs. Portland: Battle of the Vegan Donuts/Doughnuts

Nick and I just got home from a week away to the west coast. We spent 3 days in Seattle and 4 days in Portland. We ate LOTS of great vegan food and saw so many amazing things! We got to spend all 3 days we had in Seattle with Nick’s brother and sister-in-law, so it was fun to do a lot of fun things with them, and “make” them eats all kinds of yummy vegan food! I have SO much to tell you, but if I were to put it all in one post, you’d be reading for quite awhile. We did a lot! So for today, we’re going to talk donuts. Doughnuts. However you choose to spell it. I love donuts. I mean, REALLY love them. Cake donuts that I make at home are delicious and tasty, but nothing compares to a FRIED donut. Do you know what I mean? There is just something about them that makes me so happy. (it’s probably all the sugar and fat, but whatever)

We didn’t get into Seattle until 1am on Saturday morning, but after a few hours of sleep, we headed to Mighty-O donuts. I’ve been following Mighty-O on instagram for quite some time and couldn’t wait to get there and snag a dozen! (we had to try a bit of everything, right??) Not only are their donuts vegan, but they’re organic! Score!
Mighty-O donuts

(Dennis is posing nicely at the bottom, haha! He didn’t even know Nick was taking the picture!)

Mighty-O Donuts

We ordered a good mix of everything from the case:
Vegan Mighty-O donuts

The standout was by far the chocolate glazed long john. Ahhhhh. I’m still dreaming of that one. The one right above the chocolate long john was Dennis’s favorite flavor, so we had to try it. It was French Toast. Delicious! But nothing compared to the long john. It was amazing. We did pretty good job demolishing them over the next 12 hours. We didn’t quite eat them all, but we tasted every single one! And while we couldn’t make it back to the original location again, we did grab them for breakfast for the next two days at the local coffee shop by the apartment we rented. That’s how good they are!

Our first full day in Portland was a massage. *sigh* It was awesome! But on our way to the train, we happened upon Voodoo Doughnut!
Voodoo Doughnut

We’d read online that there was always a super long line outside the door, but at 9:00am on Wednesday, we got right in! Score! We didn’t order a dozen this time (there were only 2 of us this time around, after all!), but we got 3 to try out.
Voodoo Doughnut

We got the maple bar and the Grape Ape which was a raised, fried donut with vanilla glaze dipped in grape Kool-Aid with purple sprinkles, and the Gay Bar. The Gay Bar was recommended by the guy taking our order, so we gave it a whirl. It was vanilla iced filled with bavarian cream and topped with Fruit Loops.
Vegan Voodoo Doughnuts

The maple bar was the winner for me, but the Grape Ape was a close second. It tasted like Purplesaurus Rex! Remember that flavor of Kool-Aid? I drank that all the time as a kid. Nick’s favorite was also the maple bar, but he LOVED the bavarian cream in the Gay Bar. It was super silky, creamy and very vanilla-y.

The winner? Mighty-O, in our opinion. We ate those donuts 3 days in a row! Voodoo was AMAZING and we were super thrilled they had vegan doughnuts (I’m trying to stay true to the spelling at both places, ha!), and it was certainly tasty, but Mighty-O was our favorite. More traditional, and just done really well. Voodoo is an experience, so don’t miss it if you’re ever in Portland, but if you’re in Seattle, go to Mighty-O immediately! Your life will be changed for the better.

Have you been to either donut/doughnut location? What did you think?

14 thoughts on “Seatte vs. Portland: Battle of the Vegan Donuts/Doughnuts

  1. I’ve never been ( I live in the UK) but a friend sent me some Mighty-O ones in a care package. Must be 7-8 years ago and I still remember them fondly 🙂

  2. I’m a big fan of the Mighty-O. And since I’m vegan, I don’t really go to Voodoo when I’m in Portland, even though they have vegan options. I thought as a vegan I’d be relegated to cake donuts forever, but Mighty-O even makes an amazing donut that is comparable to a deep-fried Krispy Kreme. They rock.

  3. I’ve been to both, and I love Voodoo’s schtick (good things come in pink boxes, and there’s magic in the hole). I prefer Mighty-O over Voodoo hands down.

  4. I pretty much eat Mighty-O everyday. Thankfully U-Dub stocks them at coffee shops all across campus. It doesn’t get any better and I totally agree. Long john’s my fav too!

  5. Been to both, and MIghty O is still my fave. You’re right, Voodoo is an experience not to be missed, but man, those Mighty-O’s are something awesome.

  6. Long-time Mighty-O fans here… we may, or may not, have made the 2.5hr drive early on a Saturday morning just for the donuts… Our latest best find is the lowly “Naked Cake” (followed up closely by Lemon Poppyseed). The plain donut is the very essence of a fried dough ring (Fat. Crispy far!)

    So glad you enjoyed them. It’s a fun place!

  7. Oh my goodness—so sorry to hear you didn’t get a fritter at Mighty-O! They are amazing. They always have apple and then have seasonal ones like blueberry and peach. So, so, SO good! The apple fritter is my fave. May have to stop there on my way home now. Didn’t know Voodoo did vegan—will have to check them out next time I’m in PDX.

  8. I agree with you that Mighty-O is way better than Voodoo… I just think they are higher quality. But I have to tell you, you ate three of the nastiest donuts that Voodoo makes. If you want to give them a fair trial next time you’re in town try the Portland Creme, the Voodoo Doll, and the Dirty Ol’ Bastard.

  9. Just had a Don King and an Apple Spice from Mighty-O for breakfast (I’m a health nut!). LOVE them! Voodoo gave me the largest apple fritter I’ve ever had before and it was amazing (though probably NOT vegan). MIghty-O for the win!

  10. I’ve had vegan donuts all over the country and mighty o certainly wins out over voodoo especially since the do apple fritters now.

    Donut farm in Oakland and sweet pea in Portland are two of my other favs

Comments are closed.