Plum Bistro

Seattle was a blast. I mean, what’s not to like? Mountains, fresh air, the Puget Sound, Starbucks, Mighty-o donuts, and Plum Bistro. I know. It rains all the time or something, but it was beautiful and sunny while we were there, so I’m going to remember it that way!

Now, let’s talk about Plum Bistro. Nick and I did a lot of research before heading out west, trying to narrow down the places we wanted to eat. Plum Bistro kept staying near the top of the list. We had also checked out their cookbook from our local library before going, and everything looked so amazing, so that sealed the deal. We met up with my brother-in-law and sister-in-law on Sunday morning for brunch. If I had to pick my favorite meal, I think it would have to be brunch. You get the best of both worlds. Breakfast, lunch and a little bit of everything else. Perfection! Well, we met at 11:00, and only had to wait about 5 minutes for a table. (they only take reservations for tables of 6 or more) I’m not sure if this is the average waiting time, but it seemed to be our lucky day! The decor was super cute, welcoming and cozy. It’s not a very large space, but there was a bar to sit at as well as the several tables they had.

Plum Bistro

We were ready for our vegan adventure to begin! But we needed a bit to pour over the menu. There were so many delicious sounding choices, I didn’t know what to pick! Finally, decisions were made and we waited (im)patiently for our appetizer to arrive. Behold, the Spicy Cajun Mac & Yease:
Spicy Cajun Mac & Yease

Now. I love a good mac & cheese, even though I’m not yet totally sold on vegan cheese. (am I the only one?) But this? WAS AMAZING. This is their signature mac & cheese, and I know why! It was creamy, cheesy and perfectly spicy. Nick and I were the only two vegans at the table, but this dish totally sold the other two. We all dug right in and it was gone in seconds. So, SO good.

Then came the main event. I had originally ordered their seasonal quiche, but it wasn’t ready yet. I’m now glad it wasn’t. The dish I ended up ordering was LIFE CHANGING. Seriously. If I ever got invited to be a guest of “The Best Thing I Ever Ate”, this would the dish. Hands down.
Grilled Fig Panini - 2

It was two pieces of grilled bread layered with housemade ricotta, onion jam, sliced figs, arugula and a balsamic drizzle. Can I be honest for a minute? I was a little apprehensive about this dish. Figs scare me a little bit (I’m a huge texture person) and having to change my order last mintue kind of threw me off for a second. However, one bite later, I was sold. I’m not sure how to describe it. It was salty, sweet, creamy and crunchy all at the same time. This was definitely not a sandwich you could eat with your hands, I had to grab my knife and fork. Every bite kept growing on me, and after I demolished it, I was sad it was gone. Every element worked together in perfect harmony and it seriously SO DARN GOOD. (it was Nick’s favorite dish, too)

Dennis ordered the Peach Kiwi French Toast:
Peach Kiwi French Toast

It was delicious! The french toast was perfectly done and it paired well with the fruit. A side of sweet cream never hurts! But it wasn’t overly sweet, which was nice and let the fruit shine in the dish.

Stephanie ordered the Banana Hotcakes:
Banana Hotcakes

Yum! They were pretty simple and nothing flashy, but they were perfectly done pancakes. Super fluffy and tasty. She loved them, but felt they needed a bit more maple syrup which our server gladly brought her.

Nick went all out and ordered the Chocolate Peanut Butter Pancakes (is anyone surprised? ;)):
Chocolate Peanut Butter Pancakes

Holy cow. These pancakes were like dessert! Super rich, chocolatey and served with LOTS of whipped peanut butter! He couldn’t quite make it through the entire place because they were so rich (and he kept sneaking bites of my panini!), but he made a valiant effort nonetheless. These would make a great dessert if you ordered more savory dishes for brunch and wanted to end on a sweet note.

All in all, Plum Bistro was a huge hit with the vegans and non-vegans alike. It was my favorite meal of our entire trip and I keep dreaming about it. It was that good. If you’re ever in Seattle, make sure to stop by and give Plum Bistro a try. You won’t be disappointed! Not only are they entirely vegan, but they have lots of gluten free options as well. Always a bonus! It will be one of my first stops next time I’m in Seattle, for sure!

Have you been to Plum Bistro? What did you think?

