I’m a Goonie!

So, last week kinda sucked. The house is WAY too quiet and I miss my lil buddy, Basil, LIKE CRAZY. But each day is a little better than the last, and I know that he’s not in any more pain. But seriously. That was one of THE hardest things I’ve ever had to do. We sure do miss him.

But time marches on, and I wanted to share some of our favorite pictures from Cannon Beach, OR. What is the significance of Cannon Beach, OR? I’m so glad you asked! It’s where part of the end scenes of “Goonies” was filmed! (if you haven’t seen “Goonies”, go and rent it, and watch it immediately) While driving down the coast from Seattle to Portland, Nick and I knew we had to find the famous Goonies Rock! In reality, the rock is called Haystack Rock, and it resides in the lovely, little town of Cannon Beach, OR.

We were totally going to stop in Astoria and do the “truffle shuffle”, but time didn’t allow.
Truffle Shuffle
(image source)

Cannon Beach was a lovely town! I would love to go back and explore it more. It’s just a sweet, small, beach town with lots of fun shops, restaurants, and breathtaking views! We ventured into a local state park and were blown away with how gorgeous it was!
Haystack Rock

After taking about a millions pictures, we ventured into town, grabbed some grub at “Bill’s Tavern” and then ventured onto the beach for some close up views of Haystack Rock.
Haystack Rock

Haystack Rock

Nickerbocker:
Nick at Haystack Rock

And me:
Jacks at Haystack Rock

We had so much fun!! And while I meant to only dip my hands in the Pacific, the ocean had other ideas. A wave came out of nowhere and surprised me by getting me wet from almost the knee down! Brrrr! That water was cold, folks.

We loved being Goonies for a day! Are YOU a Goonie??

