Sweet Potato Cookies (vegan & refined sugar free)

We have gotten A LOT of sweet potatoes in our winter share of our CSA. I’ll be honest in saying that I don’t really love baked sweet potatoes. I don’t really know why, I’ve just never developed a taste for them. But last week, I baked up a few and then Nick made them into a nice, smooth puree. He attempted some sweet potato pancakes (fail) and we made some sweet potato burgers (pretty good – needs a few tweaks), and so I had the bright idea to make cookies. I mean, yeah! COOKIES! I have to admit, I was a little apprehensive about these, and I modified the original recipe quite a bit, but the result? YUM. And I’m picky about cookies. These are soft, chewy and full of all kinds of yummy things. These would be great for breakfast, too. I enjoyed mine as an afternoon treat with a mug of hot cider. Delicious!

Sweet Potato Cookies (vegan)

Sweet Potato Cookies
(recipe adapted)
2/3 cup sweet potato puree
2 T ground flax seeds
1/4 cup almond milk
1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup agave nectar
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 cups whole wheat spelt flour
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
3/4 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
2 cups rolled oats
1 cup dried cranberries
1/3 cup toasted pecans, chopped
1/3 cup vegan chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside. In a large mixing bowl mix together sweet potato puree, ground flax seed and almond milk. Add coconut oil, agave nectar and vanilla and mix well. Add in whole wheat spelt flour, spices, baking soda and kosher salt and stir until fully incorporated. Fold in oats, cranberries, pecans and chocolate chips. Using a large cookie scoop (I used an ice cream scoop) drop on the prepared baking sheet and lightly flatten with your hand. Leave about 2″ between each cookie.

Sweet Potato Cookies (vegan)

Bake for 12 minutes, remove from oven, and let sit on the baking sheet for about 2 minutes before removing to a cookie sheet to cool completely. (This recipe made 14 cookies for me)

Sweet Potato Cookies (vegan)

Enjoy!

Let's hear it!

