Apple Crumb Pie (vegan & gluten free)

You know, some days you just want to bake a pie. That was me the other day. I had a quiet morning, a volunteer meeting after lunch, and then when I got home I said to myself, “I’m going to bake a pie.” I had everything I needed on hand, so this was a cinch to whip together. The best part was that I took it to my small group that night and we INHALED it. All of us. And only two of us are vegans. And one is gluten free. I’d call that a win. I used honeycrisp apples because that’s what I had on hand, but any tart apple will do. I also “cheated” a bit, and used a pre-made crust. I’m not ashamed. And you shouldn’t be either! It’s okay. We all know gluten free baking can be a bit tricky. So if you’re itching for a tasty, tart and satisfying pie, this one fits the bill.

Apple Crumb Pie
Pie
7 small apples, peeled, cored and sliced
1/2 cup evaporated cane juice
2 T lemon juice
2 T cornstarch
3 T brown rice flour
2 tsp ground cinnamon

Topping
1/2 cup brown rice flour
1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar
1/4 cup earth balance, cut into cubes
1/4 cup gluten free old fashioned oats

Preheat oven to 350. Prepare pie crust in pie plate (or do as I did, and buy one*!) Peel and slice the apples and add to a medium sized bowl. After all apples are sliced, toss with lemon juice. In a small bowl, add together cornstarch, flour, sugar and cinnamon and mix well. Add to apples, and mix until well combined. Make sure all slices are coated. Add to prepared pie shell. Set aside.

Apple Crumb Pie (vegan & gluten free)

In a separate bowl, mix together the topping ingredients; flour, sugar and oats. Add in cubes of earth balance and mix with your hands (or a pastry blender) until the butter is evenly incorporated. Carefully pour on top of your prepared apples and slightly press it all together.

Apple Crumb Pie (vegan & gluten free)

Bake for about 50 minutes (I baked mine on a foil-lined baking sheet just in case), or until the top just begins to get brown and the edges of your pie crust are golden brown. Serves 8.

Apple Crumb Pie (vegan & gluten free)

Serve with your favorite non-dairy ice cream and dig in!

Enjoy!

*note: I REALLY like this pie crust as it’s the best gluten free and vegan pie crust I’ve found so far. (that’s not homemade – and those? are tricky) My only complaint is that the edges – no matter what – get a little crispy and crunchy. But that? I can live with. 🙂

