Captain Cookies (3rd Annual Food Blogger Cookie Swap)

It’s Food Blogger Cookie Swap day! I couldn’t wait to check my mail everyday in anticipation of the cookies we’d be receiving. As luck (or not, haha!) would have it, they all came on the same day!

Food Blogger Cookie Swap Cookies

We received some spicy(!) chocolate cookies from Martha at Brownie Runs, Lemon Crinkles from Shannon at Killer Bunnies, Inc, and Kathy’s Vegan Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies from Lonny at Om Nom Dallas. I immediately ate one of each and then sighed with happiness! The spicy chocolate cookies had a lot of surprise heat at the end, the lemon crinkles were perfectly lemon-y and tart and the chocolate chip walnut cookies had an awesome soft and chewy texture. Yum! Thanks for the great cookies, ladies! You made our day!

I had so much fun developing a recipe for my matches. I even tested them among vegans and non-vegans alike and everyone loved them! I was trying to think of something local that we could use. Nick and I threw around some ideas and came up with the idea of using Cap’n Crunch! Quaker Oats is a HUGE employer here and so I chose something that we make locally, but also something you can buy nationally. Cap’n Crunch pairs nicely with the sweet, tart blueberries and white chocolate chips. They’re soft, chewy and a little addictive. (my non-vegan friend ate 3 in a matter of minutes!) I hope you give them a try. They’re delicious, if I do say so myself!

Captain Cookies

Captain Cookies

½ cup earth balance, softened to room temperature
¼ cup evaporated cane juice
½ cup brown sugar, lightly packed
egg replacer equal to 1 egg (I used Ener-G)
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 tsp baking soda
½ tsp kosher salt
1 cup all-purpose flour
¼ cup dried blueberries
¼ cup vegan white chocolate chips (you can find them here or here)
½ cup Cap’n Crunch cereal

Preheat oven to 350. Line a cookie sheet with parchment and set aside. Cream together earth balance and sugars. Add in egg replacer and vanilla and mix to combine. Add baking soda, salt and flour. Combine. Finally, add in blueberries, white chocolate chips and cereal. Mix until just combined.

Hello, cookie dough!

Chill dough in refrigerator for 1 hour. Using a cookie scoop, scoop dough and place on prepared cookie sheet. Bake for 8 minutes. Let sit on cookie sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container. They keep well for up to 3 days.

Captain Cookies

Captain Cookies

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Captain Cookies (3rd Annual Food Blogger Cookie Swap)

  1. I was one of the lucky recipients of a dozen of these cookies via the Great Food Blogger Cookie Exchange. They were delicious! My husband isn’t so certain he agrees…but that’s because he’s pouting because, well, he didn’t get any. I ate them. All! Yum!

Let's hear it!

