Tator Tot Hot Dish (vegan, gluten free & soy free)

I’ve made this dish quite a few times, and every time I put it on Instagram, I get a bunch of hits. I thought it was about time to share my secret!

Nick and I grew up in neighboring states, but he was farther north than me, so he had some interesting sayings that I’d never heard. Instead of “duck, duck, goose”, he played “duck, duck, grey duck” (what??) and he always called a “casserole” a “hot dish”. I have to say, I like hot dish better. It sounds retro and fun. I find myself saying casserole out of habit, but I’m trying to change my ways to hot dish. It’s suits me, no?

This hot dish is by far a favorite my Lil Sis and myself. Nick likes it just fine, but he doesn’t crave it like Lil Sis and I do. It’s soooo good. Comforting, cheesy, warming and delicious! But compared to it’s non-vegan counterpart, it’s so much better for you. Less guilt! What’s not to like? I also make this with organic veggies and organic tator tots just to keep those pesky GMO’s away!

Tator Tot Hot Dish
3 T soy-free earth balance
3 T brown rice flour
2 cups almond milk
1 bag (8 oz) daiya cheddar shreds
1 1/2 – 2 bags mixed veggies (I like the carrot, corn and pea blend. I used the 10 oz bags.)
2 bags tator tots
salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375. Lightly grease a baking dish with cooking spray and set aside. Melt butter over medium heat in a large saucepan. Once melted, add brown rice flour and whisk to combine. Cook for a few minutes, until light brown and bubbly, and then add in almond milk a bit at a time, whisking constantly to combine. Once all the milk has been added, whisk for about 5 minutes, until thick enough to coat the back of the spoon. Add daiya shreds and whisk until completely melted and the mixture is creamy. Stir in mixed veggies (2 bags is ideal, but I always end up only having 1 1/2 bags!) and pour into prepared baking dish. Smooth into an even layer and then top with tator tots. (you have a few left over) Bake for about 45 minutes, or until heated through and bubbly and the tots have browned. Season with salt and pepper to taste, and dig in!

Tator Tot Casserole/Hot Dish

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Tator Tot Hot Dish (vegan, gluten free & soy free)

  1. One of my favorite meals before going vegan was always tator tot hotdish! I just made this for the first time and it is a winner! So excited to have found this recipe!!! Thank you!!

Let's hear it!

