White Bean Chicken Chili – Pssst, don’t tell anyone its vegan and gluten free

Today I’m participating in yet another chili cook off at work.  Most of these things don’t go so well for me.  I’m a foodie at heart and everything that wins is something that appeals to the masses.  In our past work contests I’ve made some fantastic guacamole, a pizza hummus, my spectacular sweet and spicy chili, a peanut butter cream cheese ball, but I haven’t really made a dent in any of the standings.  I’m always getting some pretty good reviews, but never enough love to make it into the top three.  So this time I’m going to Beyond Meat for the win.  These guys do absolutely incredible things and give me veggie products that just plain fool me and everyone else as to if its real or not.  So I’m going to have Jacks make the label up for me and not talk about my chili in hopes that people will really think it is chicken chili.  You see I often struggle with people even trying my food because they just assume that its got no taste.  I’ll have to let you all know how it works out.  I’m probably over confident, but this is a REALLY good Chicken Chili.  Its based off Teena’s Famous White Bean Chili found in Vegan Cooking for Carnivores.  I’ve made enough changes that I’d like to consider it my own, but I want to give some props to the originators.

Whatever you do, you really need to try to find the Beyond Meat chickenless strips. They’re such an amazing product. I love Gardein and many other vegan proteins, but this just takes the cake. The texture is spot on to a piece of chicken. The taste is amazing and the best part is that they’re also GF which can be hard to find in vegan meat alternatives.

So with this all being said, this is such an easy recipe, so what are you waiting for, go make it, grab some chips and simply enjoy.
(This picture isn’t the greatest as I just remembered to snap one at work…. OOPS)
White bean chicken chili

White Bean Chicken Chili
1 Tablespoon safflower oil
1 Large White onion – Small dice
4 Garlic Cloves – Minced
2 4 ounce cans diced chilis – 1 mild, 1 hot
2 Tablespoons Ground Cumin
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1 Tablespoon dried oregano, crushed in your hand to release the oils
3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 14 oz cans white beans
5 cups of veggie broth
1/2 package of Beyond Meat Grilled chicken strips diced
1 Tablespoon of Cholula Hot Sauce
Salt and Pepper to Taste
Green Onions and Cilantro for Garnish

Take a soup pot and put it over medium high heat, add the oil and let it get hot. Once hot add the onion and cook until they are translucent, it’ll probably take about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and cook for a minute until fragrant. Stir in the chicken, green chilis, cumin, chili powder, oregano and cayenne. Let cook for a few minutes. Add the beans and broth and hot sauce and let simmer for 10-15 mintues, taste for seasonings add salt, pepper. Enjoy now, or I find it best if it sits overnight and is reheated the next day. Make sure to garnish with green onion and cilantro if desired.

2 thoughts on “White Bean Chicken Chili – Pssst, don’t tell anyone its vegan and gluten free

  1. Hi Nick and Jacks! Thanks so much for the awesome post and the fantastic looking recipe! We love to hear that you’re bringing this to your work to do an impromptu taste test and we are really excited to hear what your coworkers have to say!

    Please do keep us in the loop and we look forward to following along with all of your delicious adventures this year!

    1. Thanks so much for the love. So far it’s gone over very well. One coworker figured it out but this has been by far my best received vegan offering. Many people couldn’t believe that it wasn’t real. I think it is helping to open eyes that you can make great food without animal products. Can’t wait to sneak the new crumbles into a dish.

Let's hear it!

