Banana Chocolate Chip Scones (vegan & refined sugar free*)

I love me some scones, y’all! I like when they have a soft, chewy texture. I’m not as big of a fan of the drier, crumblier ones. While those have their place – great with coffee and tea! – I just prefer something you can eat on the go and not worry about it crumbling all over the place! These scones are DELICIOUS! I know I say that about everything, but seriously, these are, too. They are perfectly chocolately, with small pieces of banana. And they’re refined sugar free! How awesome is that? *I mean, I suppose there is refined sugar in the chocolate chips, but I didn’t make those with my own hands. 😉 I hope you try these scones out! You won’t be sad you did. However, beware! You might just eat two. Or three.

Banana Chocolate Chip Scones

Banana Chocolate Chip Scones
1 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp kosher salt
2 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup melted coconut oil
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life)
2 small bananas, cut in half lengthwise and then diced
1/3 cup agave nectar
1/2 cup almond milk (I used Califia Toasted Coconut Almond Milk)
2 tsp apple cider vinegar

Preheat oven to 400. In a large bowl whisk together whole wheat pastry flour, all-purpose flour, salt and baking powder. Add melted coconut oil and mix with a fork (or your hands) until the oil and the flour mixture are well combined. Add chocolate chips and diced banana and mix to coat. In a measuring cup, whisk together agave nectar, almond milk and apple cider vinegar. Add to dry mixture and mix with a rubber spatula until well combined and no dry flour remains. Using a large cookie scoop (think ice cream scoop size), scoop onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Press down slightly and bake for 12 minutes, or until just golden brown. I got 10 scones.

Banana Chocolate Chip Scones

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Chip Scones (vegan & refined sugar free*)

Let's hear it!

