Review: The Honest Co.

So I’m one of those crazy women who loves cleaning products. Especially cleaning products that are vegan, cruelty free and use natural ingredients instead of a bunch of nasty things that I can’t pronounce. I’ve really taken to using the Buycott App (thanks to my sister-in-law who turned me on to it) to help me make wise choices at the store. I ran into an issue recently with laundry detergent. Every “natural” product I scanned came up with conflicts. Ugh! And I needed something to wash my clothes! After a bit of research and searching the internet, I finally landed on The Honest Company.

I ordered laundry detergent, face and body lotion, dryer cloths (did you know that some mainstream dryer cloths use animal fat?!) and toilet bowl cleaner. While an interesting mix, I was excited to try them all out. Prices and shipping were both very reasonable. And I believe some products may be purchased at Whole Foods.

Honest Company

Laundry detergent: I didn’t notice a huge difference, but the scent was nice and my clothes felt soft.

Dryer Cloths: There are 32 cloths in the package, and each can be used 2 times. The interesting thing is that the cloths are damp when you take them out of the package (like a wet wipe). There is still a little bit of static when I take the clothes out of the dryer, but nothing crazy. And I like that nothing in them irritates our skin. (Nick’s skin is very sensitive)

Toilet Bowl Cleaner: The scent is very clean smelling – it’s labeled as tea tree eucalyptus. It’s thick enough to coat the bowl and leaves everything super clean and sparkling.

Face and body lotion: Loved this one. At first I was little unsure about the scent, but it dissipates quickly. It absorbs super easily and feels really nice on the skin. I haven’t tried it on my face, but I really enjoy it as a body lotion.

Overall, I would buy all of these products again, and try many of the others they have available. If you’re looking for something new to try that is plant-based, cruelty free, actually gets the job done and makes you feel good about supporting them, I’d give The Honest Company a try!

