Sunday Sips: Lucky Buddha by Lucky Drink Company

This week, I’m bringing you all one of the most fun drinks I’ve had in awhile, if only from the sense of the packaging. This is the Lucky Buddha beer by Lucky Drink Company.  This little brew has been staring back at me (literally) for months in the single bottle section at one of my local drink establishments.  This time I’d finally had enough, I couldn’t say no to that giant inviting belly on the bottle.  It was just waiting there to be enjoyed. Look at the bottle, doesn’t that make you want to grab one if nothing else for the novelty factor?

 
Lucky Buddah

As far as the beer itself, I had NO idea what I was getting into with it. There isn’t really any description on the beer, but when looking at it I figured that it must have been a lighter beer because the glass was fairly bright when looking through it. As I cracked the bottle the first thing that I got in the nose was a nice bright almost lime like scent followed immediately by breadiness. Given that I was just looking to drink a beer and not put a lot of thought into it, this kind of made me excited. It was going to be a nice change in pace from the IPAs I’ve been drinking lately. As you can see the pour was crystal clear, a bit of a straw color to it, but it was a lovely golden. (Perhaps I should not be taking my beer pictures on a yellow table? 😉 ) The head was a couple fingers wide and was a really attractive white. I went in for the drink and I’ll tell you that it danced on my tongue a bit, it was nice and refreshing, it had some citrus hints, and it was just well rounded. No distinct flavors jumped out more than another. This is what you would call an Asian Lager. In my mind this was very reminiscent of a bud light lime. I enjoyed the beer, it wasn’t a world changer, but it was pretty darn good and it was nice after a long day of work. Its also something I wouldn’t have a problem ordering up at an Asian restaurant. I’m giving it a solid 3.5 out of 5 on my scale. The last half point bump is simply for its wonderful bottle.

Hope you all have a wonderful week. What’s your go to for beer with Asian food?

2 thoughts on “Sunday Sips: Lucky Buddha by Lucky Drink Company

  1. First, how did you manage to hold out in that bottle for so long? I probably would have caved in the first minute.

    Second, it sounds like a high quality session beer, if only for the freshness. I usually go for something pretty firm when I have Asian, mostly to battle the deep-fry flavors, but something light would probably cut through very nicely. I’ll have to give it a try.

    1. Good question as to how I waited so long. It would be a good session beer. Thanks for stopping by, I agree we may not get a lot of readers but it’s always nice to know that there are a couple out there.

Comments are closed.