Agave Sweetened Donuts (vegan & gluten free)

As you’ve probably figured out by now (and if you ever look at my Instagram feed ) you know that already. I have a fool-proof recipe that has proven to be a favorite among vegans and non-vegans alike. And the gluten free version is just as delicious! But you also know that I’m not happy with just one thing. I like lots of options and I love trying new things! A great friend of mine has recently gone gluten and refined sugar free, so I’m always on the lookout for recipes to make for her. I love baking for other people! Now if only I could figure out how to get paid for that, then everything would be even that much better!!

These donuts don’t have the same flavor or texture as a traditional baked donut, but don’t let that scare you! The agave gives them a bit of a caramel-y flavor and they’re not overly dense as some gluten free baked goods can be. They are actually quite light and fluffy! I will admit there are quite a few ingredients, but once you get your pantry stocked, you’ll be good to go for quite a few batches of these babies!

Agave sweetened donuts. (vegan & gluten free)

*note: make sure to measure all ingredients – both liquid and dry alike – with dry measuring cups!

Agave Sweetened Donuts
(adapted from babycakes)
1/3 cup refined coconut oil, melted
3/4 cup brown rice flour
1/3 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup potato starch
1/4 cup arrowroot
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1/8 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp xanthan gum
3/4 agave nectar
6 T unsweetened applesauce
1/4 cup pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease 2 donut pans with melted coconut oil or spray with coconut oil spray and set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flours, potato starch, arrowroot, baking powder, kosher salt, baking soda and xanthan gum. Add agave nectar, coconut oil, applesauce and vanilla. Mix with a rubber spatula until the ingredients are combined and the batter is smooth. Drop 2 1/2 tablespoons of batter into each donut mold and spread a bit around to make it even.

Bake for 8 minutes, rotate 180 degrees and continue baking until the donuts are golden brown, which should be 8 minutes more. Let cool in molds for about 5 minutes before removing from pan and cool completely on a cooling rack. Coat with topping of your choice! I used a simple mix of powdered sugar & almond milk whisked together to easy icing consistency. Then I topped a few in coconut and a few in chopped nuts. Sprinkles would be great, too! Who doesn’t love sprinkles?

Enjoy!

Agave sweetened donuts. (vegan & gluten free)

5 thoughts on “Agave Sweetened Donuts (vegan & gluten free)

    1. You know, you could try! I’m certainly on the fence myself about xanthan gum. Let me know if you try it out! I’d love to hear about your results.

  1. I buy a variety of gluten free flours and mix them together with xanthan gum ahead of time, so l’m ready to bake whenever i want to. So i’m using my flour mixture instead of the flours in the recipe. Also, i don’t have applesauce in the house this morning at 5:30, so l’m using blueberry puree. Wish me luck!

Comments are closed.