Coffee? Or Tea?

I got an extremely wild hair to clean last week. Okay, let me rephrase that – that makes it seem like I never clean my house, haha! No, I mean REALLY clean. As in, move things around and scrub everything down. A really deep clean. I get these hankerings every few months and last week one hit me. It was a nice day, the sun was shining and I had no meetings or anything on the agenda for the day.

One big change? I gave up the microwave. I’m not necessarily doing it to be all health-conscious, but that is an added bonus. The main reason I gave it up was for space! We have an eat-in kitchen and so space is limited and in high demand! I’ve always wanted a coffee/tea bar. I drink coffee, and Nick drinks tea. We’re a match made in heaven! We already had the space for the coffee maker, but I wanted a place more prominent and available for Nick and his tea. The man is a true tea connoisseur!

Here’s what I came up with:

Coffee & tea bar

A space just for tea:

Tea bar

And one just for coffee:

Coffee bar

We love to collect Starbucks coffee mugs. Those are just a sampling – we’ve got quite the collection in our cupboard as well!

I love it. Now when I walk into the kitchen I just feel all happy and giddy. Like I have my own little Starbucks available to me at any time. How great is that?!

Coffee & tea bar

The dresser was given to me by my parents when they were moving and cleaning some things out of their house. The drawers are useful for storing lots of things. The top drawers holds additional reusable mugs and cups that we take when we want to head to Starbucks. The second holds the extra K-cups. I also have my party cups, plates and napkins in there. And finally, the third drawer. It’s a great place for all of our cutting boards! They lie flat, so it’s he perfect spot. We’ve also got the extra plates for our Griddler as well as Nick’s pizza peel. I love it when something so simple as a dresser can be upcycled into something for my kitchen!

As far as the microwave goes, we’ve had to make a few adjustments. It’s crazy how much we relied on that thing! It’s really just all about convenience. For example, we’d normally steam veggies if we were having them as a side for dinner. (fast and easy) But since the microwave was gone, Nick stir-fried the broccoli and it was much more delicious! I had some leftovers to reheat for lunch one day, so I reheated them in the oven instead. Tasty. And I needed some melted butter for my waffles on Saturday morning. I just put it in a small saucepan and it was melted and ready when I needed it! I’ve realized it takes a little planning, and perhaps a bit more time, but the end result tastes better. I didn’t get rid of it completely yet, but we’ll see what the future holds. Do you think you could give up your microwave? Or have you already?

I’m loving my new and improved kitchen! Happy and healthy!

2 thoughts on “Coffee? Or Tea?

  1. Cute! I’m jealous of this set up. We have the same beverage relationship – I’m a coffee fan, he’s a major tea fan. His tea takes up a lotta room 🙂

    We got rid of our microwave almost ten years ago, and have never looked back. It’s awesome.

Let's hear it!

