Super Easy Homemade Bread (vegan)

If we’re being honest, I’ve always been a little bit anxious about making my own yeast breads. I mean, there are so many steps, and so many opportunities where something could go wrong! Cinnamon rolls scared me the most, but after I decided to face my fears and make them, I realized that I was scared for nothing! It might be a long process, but it’s worth it in the end. So I figured if I can make cinnamon rolls, I can make anything!

I decided to tackle “everyday” bread. Nothing super crazy to start, but something that was good for sandwiches, toast and the like. Nick eats toast most mornings and so I wanted to find something he’d like. I got my ingredients ready, and a recipe I thought I could handle and away I went.

And you know what?

I rocked it!

This bread is delicious! It’s got a nice, thin crust with a chewy, fluffy center. I thought it was pretty darn good, but my favorite was when Nick tried it and immediately said, “That’s delicious! Nice job, honey! That is good!” I’m my own worst critic, but when Nick loves something it always makes me smile.

So, if you’re looking for a fool-proof recipe, this is the one. If I can do it, anyone can!

Super Easy Homemade Vegan Bread

Super Easy Everyday Bread
(recipe adapted)
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp kosher salt
2 T lightly packed brown sugar
1 1/2 T yeast
1 T extra virgin olive oil
7-9 ounces warm water

Stir together flour, salt, brown sugar and yeast. Create a well in the center and add the oil and 7 ounces of warm water. With a wooden spoon, mix together. If it seems too dry and doesn’t come together, add a bit of water at a time until the dough comes together and is still sticky and tacky. Once you reach the right consistency, turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface. With lightly floured hands, knead the dough for 10 minutes. (you’ll get a good arm workout!) After the 10 minutes are up, add the dough to a lightly oiled bowl and cover with a towel. Place in a warm place to rise, for about an hour.

(this is what I found after an hour!)
Super Easy Homemade Vegan Bread

Preheat oven to 350. After the dough has risen, turn out onto a lightly floured surface and knead just a few times to get rid of any air bubbles that may have formed. Form into a loaf (there’s no magic formula here) and place on a parchment-lined baking sheet.

Super Easy Homemade Vegan Bread

Bake for about 30 minutes, or until golden and hollow-sounding when you flick the bottom of the loaf. (apparently the best way to check doneness is by using a meat thermometer and making sure the internal temperature is 200 – this vegan doesn’t have a meat thermometer anymore, haha!) Let cool on a baking sheet before storing in a plastic bag.

Super Easy Homemade Vegan Bread

Super Easy Homemade Vegan Bread

Enjoy!

