Chocolate Cake Batter Cookies (vegan & soy free)

Oh, cookies. They make me so happy. But I’m also pretty particular about my cookies. They have to be a certain texture or I’m over it. I stumbled across a non-vegan recipe recently that used cake mix for part of the flour. I thought that sounded pretty good, so I took the recipe and veganized it. They were delicious! I had a few snafus (as usual when changing a recipe – at least for me!), but they were awesome. So, of course, I wanted to take something great and make it even better.

And I think I did! These cookies are not only the perfect amount of chocolate-ly goodness, but they’re soy free as well! How awesome is that? I know that’s an issue for a lot of people, so I’m always trying to push myself into trying different ways of making a recipe.

Chocolate cake batter cookies (vegan & soy free)

Instead of using traditional chocolate chips, I took a couple of Enjoy Life’s Ricemilk Crunch Bars and chopped them up. WHOA, mama. Delicious! I love them on their own anyway – and they also make an awesome s’more! – and so why not add them to a cookie? The result is delicious. The cookies are perfectly crisp on the outside and nice and chewy on the inside. The best part is that the dough freezes well and so you can keep some for a cookie emergency! Oh, you don’t do that? Well, you should. I’ve got two kinds in my freezer right now! You never know when you might have a cookie craving!! đŸ˜‰

Chocolate Cake Batter Cookies
1 1/4 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 1/4 cups chocolate cake mix (I used this one)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp kosher salt
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) soy free earth balance buttery sticks, at room temperature
1/2 cup natural cane sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar, lightly packed
1 flax “egg” (I used 1 T golden flax + 3 T warm water, whisked together)
3 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 Enjoy Life Ricemilk Crunch Bars, chopped

Preheat oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with parchment an set aside. In a large bowl, sift together the flour, cake mix, baking soda and salt. (This will ensure there aren’t any cake batter lumps in your cookies!) Using a mixed fitted with the paddle attachment cream together the soy free buttery sticks and sugars together until well combined. Add in flax “egg” and vanilla. Mix to combine. Slowly add the dry mixture, making sure to mix well before each addition. Once all the dry mixture is incorporated added, mix in the chopped chocolate. Scoop cookies onto prepared baking sheet and bake for 10 minutes.

Chocolate cake batter cookies (vegan & soy free)

Transfer to cooling rack to cool completely.

Chocolate cake batter cookies (vegan & soy free)

Eat and enjoy!
Chocolate cake batter cookies (vegan & soy free)

