Banana Chocolate Chip Walnut bread (vegan & soy free)

Fall puts me in a baking mood. I would be in the kitchen baking up a storm everyday if my waistline wouldn’t object and I had an extra source of income to feed my addiction! (and someone to wash all of my dishes, of course!) Today was another one of those perfect, fall days. The sky was blue, the sun was shining and Olive spent all day lying on the deck. We had a few overripe bananas on the counter, and so banana bread it was!

For my birthday this year my sister gave me the Sticky Fingers’ Sweets cookbook. I was elated! So I grabbed the book today and checked the index for bananas. In it was a recipe for banana bread! Sold. I made a few changes, of course, as I always like to make it my own in some way. I also appreciate that the recipe uses ounces for ingredients. I feel like that leads to a much more consistent product.

This was a great way to use bananas! The bread has a great crust on the outside, and soft, moist inside. Just the way I like it! This is perfectly respectable all on it’s own, but it’s great with a slather of your favorite vegan butter! YUM.

Banana Chocolate Chip Walnut Bread (Vegan)

Banana Chocolate Chip Walnut Bread
2 ounces coconut oil, in solid form
4 ounces evaporated cane juice
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
6 ounces ripe banana (this was about 2 1/2 bananas for me)
1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
10.25 ounces all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1/4 cup chopped walnuts*
1/4 cup vegan mini chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life)*

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a loaf pan and set aside. In a mixing bowl fitted with a paddle attachment, combine coconut oil, evaporated cane juice and vanilla until creamy. Add bananas and mix until the bananas are completely mashed. Slowly add almond milk and mix until incorporated. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add to the wet ingredients and mix until they just come together. Add walnuts and chocolate chips. Pour batter into prepared loaf pan and bake for 45-60 minutes, or until the top is golden brown and set, and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool for about 15 minutes before moving to cooling rack to cool completely.

(*to keep walnuts and chocolate chips from sinking to the bottom of the batter, toss with about 1 tsp all-purpose flour before adding to the batter)

Banana Chocolate Chip Walnut Bread (Vegan)

Slice & enjoy!

