SO Delicious Pumpkin bread (vegan)

I’m going to admit it. I’m totally in the mood to decorate and celebrate all things Christmas. This is SO unlike me, but I’m going to blame it on the fact that Thanksgiving is just so darn late this year. Plus, I don’t really care about Thanksgiving. It’s nice that Nick gets two days off from work, but that’s really about it. Let’s get serious, people. We can make mashed potatoes, pumpkin pie and vegan turkey any day of the year! I’ve never understood the hoopla.

That being said – and I hope you’re still with me! – I’m totally not over the pumpkin thing. I can make pumpkin things any time of the year as well, and I do. But because we bought a 6-pack of organic pumpkin at Costco for super cheap, I’ve been thinking of ways to use it. You may be thinking, “another pumpkin bread recipe?! lame.” Well, yes. This is another pumpkin bread recipe. But it’s also awesome! Every year I look forward to the dairy free drinks that come out around the holidays. This year we picked up some SO Delicious Pumpkin Spice Coconut Milk. This stuff is pretty darn tasty. It’s thicker than your traditional coconut milk, but not as thick as an eggnog-like drink. I found a recipe online and totally went my own way and made it vegan! BOOM.

The result? Delicious, soft and extra pumpkin-y goodness. Slather this with some earth balance and you won’t be able to stop. I ate 2 pieces in about 2 minutes. YUM.

SO Delicious Pumpkin Bread

SO Delicious Pumpkin Bread
1 cup SO Delicious Pumpkin Spice Coconut Milk
2 flax eggs (2 T ground flaxseed + 4 T warm water, whisked together)
1 cup pumpkin puree
1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
1/2 cup evaporated cane juice
2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp kosher salt
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a loaf pan with cooking spray; set aside. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, kosher salt and spices. Beat together coconut milk, flax eggs, oil and pumpkin puree. Add dry ingredients slowly, and mix well after each addition. (be sure to scrape down the sides as needed) Bake in prepared loaf pan for 45-55 minutes, depending on your oven. Bread is done when edges have browned and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool in pan for about 5 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack to cool completely.

SO Delicious Pumpkin Bread

Enjoy!

Have a very Happy Thanksgiving! What’s on your vegan menu this year? I’d love to know!

