Lemon-y Beyond Chicken Noodle Soup for 2 (or 4 if you’re like us!)… (vegan & gluten free) – Virtual Vegan Potluck!

Hey y’all, it’s literally been forever since I’ve blogged.  Needless to say things have been very busy at work and I’ve also not been drinking as much beer lately.  Sacrilege I know.  Anyway, Jackie and I were talking the other day and she brought up the Virtual Vegan Potluck (VVP).  I love the VVP!  I get so excited every time it comes around, so I was all for putting something together.  I actually have been working on this soup for awhile.  Its so easy and so comforting, and I found out after the fact that the special ingredient this time around is a prominent part of my recipe.  BONUS!

Jackie and I are often struggling with recipes that are made for families.  I’m all for that, and I scale appropriately as I can, but sometimes its just nice to have a recipe with smaller portions.  I also get into the mode where my freezer is so full that it can’t stand any more leftovers, but I’ve just got to have some soup.  I think this soup/recipe is the perfect answer for all of that.  This can all be made in a large sauce pan, and its SO EASY!  I think you’ll all appreciate just how fast this can come together and how simple it is.  Its so comforting and I guarantee that it’ll kick a cold right fast too.  What are you waiting for, go throw this together, have a bowl and keep reading through all the recipes of the VVP.  Enjoy!

PS… We’ve also tried a few different options that have been equally delicious so I’ve called those out for you in the ingredients list.

Lemony Beyond Chicken Noodle Soup (vegan & gluten free) VVP

Lemon-y Beyond Chicken Noodle Soup for 2
1 tsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
2 celery stalks, diced
1 medium red onion, diced
1 cup carrot, diced
1 medium leek diced, white part only, rinsed (Optional)
3 cloves garlic, chopped
1/2 tsp salt
6-8 strips of Beyond Meat Lightly seasoned Chicken Strips, diced
5-6 cups water (depending on how brothy you like your soup)
2 tsp (Better than Bouillon, Chicken Flavor)
1 tsp dried dill
1 tsp dried thyme
1 dash freeze dried chives
3/4 Cup Small Gluten Free Noodles
Juice of 1 Lemon

1. Heat EVOO over medium heat, add vegetables and salt and sweat vegetables for ~10 minutes, until the onions are translucent and the carrots are somewhat tender, but with a bit of tooth.

2. Add water, chicken, spices, bouillon, lemon juice and bring to a boil.

3. Add noodles, cook per instructions until al dente/tender ~8 minutes.

4. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Lemon-y Beyond Chicken Noodle Soup (vegan & gluten free) VVP

Enjoy! Happy Virtual Vegan Potluck! While you’re here, please check out the other blogs, especially the superb 2 on either side of us. 🙂

To go to the beginning of the potluck go to VVP December 2014.

12 thoughts on “Lemon-y Beyond Chicken Noodle Soup for 2 (or 4 if you’re like us!)… (vegan & gluten free) – Virtual Vegan Potluck!

    1. Lovlie, thats exactly true. After i made it the first time, I was like, why haven’t I done this before. Tastes great and kicks a cold.

    1. Thanks for the heads up. The link has been changed. I wasn’t really sure where to link to when I was putting the link together. Much appreciated. 🙂

  1. It’s hard to go wrong with these classic flavors! Lemon is such a nice touch. I actually tried Beyond Meat chicken for the first time a few days ago… I was pretty shocked by how good of a replica it is! Happy VVP 🙂

  2. This looks so nice. I have been wanting to pick up some more Beyond Meat Chicken, and this is the perfect excuse. Happy VVP!

Comments are closed.