Day Eight (week two, day one)

Hello, week two! Nick and I were both excited to see what yummy things were coming our way this week. Our grocery bills were less than last week (we needed quite a few pantry things last time) and we had a better plan on how to store things in the fridge. We spent Sunday getting things ready, as we did last week, and couldn’t wait to begin a new week. Plus, we were really missing our smoothies!

Breakfast: (1 serving = 1 quart)
Chocolate-Covered Blues Green Smoothie
Abundance Diet day 8
Nick leaves for work about an hour or so before I’m up for the day. (early birds – I just don’t get them!) I texted him first thing and asked about the day’s smoothie. He said it wasn’t quite cold enough for him. Learning from his experience, I swapped out fresh kale for frozen spinach (the recipe says you can use either). The cacao powder gave it a nice chocolate-y sweetness and using unsweetened coconut milk made it nice and creamy. It could have used an extra punch of something, but I found this one quite enjoyable.

Salad:
Black Bean Veggie Burger Salad with Avocado Ranch Dressing
Abundance Diet day 8
Nick made the veggie burgers into sliders so they would be easier to portion out throughout the week. I crumbled mine up on the salad so they would be easier to eat. The burgers were a smidge bland on their own, but with all the other aspects of the salad worked quite well. Nick also made the beans himself in our new pressure cooker, so we should have adjusted the salt accordingly. The ranch dressing is delicious, albeit a bit thick with the added avocado, but who doesn’t love avocado?! The different textures of all of the parts of the salad marry well together and it was a great afternoon meal.

Soup:
Abe’s Hearty Lentil Soup
Abundance Diet day 8
I’ll be honest. I was pretty anxious about this one. I have a love-hate relationship with lentils (and soup, actually, for that matter), and so I didn’t really know what to expect. I was so surprised! This soup is delicious! It’s definitely hearty, too! The flavors are SUPER complex and satisfying. I ate my entire bowl, and that’s saying something for me!

Snack:
Baked Nacho Cheesy Kale Chips
These were delicious! We doubled the amount of kale and I think that was just right! The nacho cheesy sauce that you pour over them covered all the kale evenly and so every piece is super tasty! It took quite awhile to bake them up until crispy, but I think all of the (im)patient waiting was totally worth it in the end. YUM.

Main:
Cowboy Special One-Pot Pasta
Abundance Diet day 8
I didn’t really know what to expect with this dish. It’s a mix of ingredients I wouldn’t have normally thought about putting together, but I was pleasantly surprised! It was filling and comforting and could easily be tailored to fit your specific taste desires.

Thoughts on day eight: we were both super excited to get back into the smoothie routine. Not to mention, it’s insanely hot here this week and so starting the day out with something so cool and refreshing is great! So far, we’re super stoked for this week’s menu!

Let's hear it!

