Day 21 – The last week is upon us

Sundays are always such an interesting day of feelings for me.  I’m so happy that it’s the day we get to worship our Lord, but it’s also the day that the weekend ends.  I don’t dread going to work, not even in the slightest, it’s just that I really enjoy my time that I get to spend at home with Jacks.  I know that she loves it just as much as I do.  We’ve certainly got into a bit of a routine with The Abundance Diet going on.  Sunday is our day to relax, hang around the kitchen and make up a bunch of great food for the week ahead of us.  After we get done making it all we head off to night church at Bridge Community Church here in Loudoun county.  We’ve really settled into loving the the timing of church.  I particularly enjoy how it sets my mind in the right place, I’ve been able to enjoy a whole weekend, so when I get to church I really am able to focus on worshiping Jesus.  Tonight really hit me hard as we were talking about community and reaching out and loving your neighbor.  We haven’t done the best job of that here in Virginia yet.  I’ve found that people really tend to get home and go into their house and don’t leave.  Or they’re off and so busy with activities and traffic that you never see them.  In any case, I think Jacks and I need to cook up a bunch of cookies or something and go out and try to get some conversations started.  I don’t want you all to think we’re talking crazy evangelist conversations… I mean I just would like to know my neighbors as friends.

Today was a eat and repeat of Day 18 and Day 15.  Being that it was the weekend we added in a breakfast and dessert.  Today’s breakfast was a Banana’s Foster pancake.  I don’t know if I’ve blogged on pancakes before this meal plan we’ve been following, but I LOVE pancakes.  I find them to be my dream of breakfast foods.  A nice fluffy pancake with “butter” and maple syrup just does it for me.  But it’s never very filling.  These pancakes hit the spot.

Abundance Diet day 21

The way you make these is by putting the banana into the batter after it’s cooked for 30 seconds. I don’t know why I’ve never considered that before. They were great, when you flip them the banana caramelizes wonderfully. The only thing I would change is dicing the banana to get more coverage in the pancake. They’ll be part of the rotation though, you can guarantee. (I definitely felt better about eating them then my favorite version that Isa has a recipe for.)

Dessert tonight was Chocolate Peanut Butter Cup Soft-Serve. Abundance Diet day 21

This is a nice cream made from frozen bananas with two of my favorite flavors. Chocolate and Peanut Butter. Who doesn’t love that combo (Well my dad for one, but that’s a story for another day, poor guy ate too much PB once.) I really enjoyed it, the chocolate was very pronounced, but I didn’t really get much of the PB flavor. I was really hoping for that flavor as you’ve all heard me talk about how I’ve missed it. That’s alright though, it really did add an additional creaminess to the dessert. Another guilt free dessert that is super easy to make is something that you can never go wrong with.

Thoughts for the day.  So far so good.  I’m still enjoying what we’re doing, though I am somewhat excited for it to be the last week.  I want to get back to a bit more variety.  The flavors have been top notch, and I like prepping and not having to do everything during the week, but sometimes a person just wants to change it all up a bit.  And frankly we really just miss grabbing something while being out and about.  Those happen to be the times that we tend to make the worst decisions though.  Hope that you are all doing well out there.  If there is any question you’ve got about the plan, please let us know and we’ll try to answer them over the course of the week.  Hope you all have a great week.

3 thoughts on “Day 21 – The last week is upon us

  1. you guys just got even better!! more vegan Christians?? where i live everyone thinks you can’t be both and that if you care about animals you don’t care about humans 😔🙏🏻👌🏻

    1. You know that’s really funny, I’ve seen that many times as well. People always point to the New Testament and how God made everything permissible to eat. The sad thing is that only happened because sin entered the world. The original plan was just eating fruits and veggies. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that I feel better when eating that way.

      1. exactly!!! and the bible also says ‘everything is permissible BUT not everything is beneficial’ which people ever so conveniently ignore

Let's hear it!

