Day Twenty-Four

Olive and I were a little sad when we got up and we didn’t have friends here to talk to! But we persevered and went for our morning walk. She met several dogs along the way so she was a happy pup! It was a quiet day around here. I did laundry, picked up around the house, read my new book from the library, and just enjoyed the day. Nick and I recently realized that we have movie channels included in cable. Who knew? AND we found out that one of our favorite shows, “Homeland”, will be starting again in October. Nick discovered that you can watch the first two episodes of last season for free online. We watched the first one last night. After we watch the second one, we’ll have to figure out a way to binge watch last season before the new season starts. We live wild lives I tell ya. WILD.

Breakfast: (1 serving = 1 quart)
Green Julius
Abundance diet day 24
This smoothie called for 2 medium oranges, but I ended up using one giant orange instead. I’m glad that I did because with the orange, and all of it’s zest, it was plenty orangey for me. It didn’t really remind me of an Orange Julius, but it was tart and refreshing. Nick took it upon himself to add a splash of vanilla extract, and he said it tasted like and Orange Julius to him. So there you go!

Salad:
Vegan Nicoise Salad
Abundance diet day 24
I don’t understand this salad. Now, I never had a real Nicoise Salad before becoming a vegan, but even so, I don’t get it. It’s a large salad with all kinds of large chunks of things with a dressing that you drizzle over and keep some on the side for dipping. The creamy miso dressing is delicious, but it was all too confusing and fancy for me, I guess! 🙂 Nick loved it, though. He loved all of the flavors and different elements to the salad. He’s obviously fancier than me!

Soup:
Cheesiest Potato Soup
Abundance diet day 24
I remembered the picture today! So, as I mentioned the other day, we didn’t make all 3 soups for this week because we had leftovers from last week and we wanted to eat up what we had. Even though I ate this soup yesterday I wanted to eat it again today. So yum!

Main:
Homestyle Mexican Casserole
Abundance diet day 24
We ate this casserole in week one. It’s comforting, filling, and all kinds of delicious. I was excited to have this one again! I forgot how just how HUGE the portions are! The portions are massive! I couldn’t finish all of mine. It’s super filling.

Thoughts on today: Nick made a menu for next week, and we are incorporating several ideas from the plan to keep us on track. I won’t tell you all of them right now, because I’m saving that for the last post of this series! 🙂 It’s also SO TRUE that you’ll grab the kind of snacks you have in your house. Right now the only snacks we have are fruit, veggies, and kale chips. Can’t feel bad about eating any of those!

2 thoughts on “Day Twenty-Four

  1. I like nicoise salads that I have made in the past, but I really think of them as more of a fancy vegetable platter rather than a salad. But they do look very pretty on a plate!

    We had the same lunch and dinner yesterday. I have to admit I was amazed at the serving size of the mexican casserole, a quarter of a 9 x 13 inch pan? This is my kind of serving! My whole family loved it, and I have some left over for lunch today.

    I made the cherry smoothie this morning and mine also turned out rather brown looking rather than that nice pink in the book!

    1. You’re exactly right! It’s a very fancy vegetable platter. I’ll just have to think of that next time! 🙂

      You should try some cacao in the cherry smoothie. That definitely made it “da bomb” for me!

Let's hear it!

