Day 26… Yup, that’s right, oh so close

Well we’ve made it almost all the way through to the end.  Today was basically an eat and repeat of Day 23.  We did a bit of modification on the day.  For example, Jackie ended up doing her smoothie with strawberries instead of mangoes.  I ended up doing a completely different smoothie.  I went with the Tropical Paradise smoothie.  As you can see below both Olive and I loved that smoothie.  The coconut water was a great addition for the liquid, it gave a little acidic and sweet bit and kept the smoothie really nice and green for the entire time I was drinking it.

Olive and smoothieAs to the other reason I said basically a repeat, we ended up having the curried brown rice salad while we were at the National Zoo, and we didn’t have the soup today.  It was a perfect day to go explore a bit of the city.  I love that all the museums here in DC are free, or very low cost.  For instance the zoo does charge for parking, but we found parking out on the street.  Being vegans, we’re a bit conflicted as to how we feel about zoos.  We absolutely love seeing the animals, and I really do know that the zoo keepers tend to love the animals.  But it really isn’t their natural habitat, and you can tell that some of them are just so bored.  In general we don’t go to them any more, but like I said, I love animals so much that sometimes I just want to see them. Jackie even got to pet a burro.  Seeing that it was only about 80 degrees and cloudy out today, nearly all the animals were out and about and just enjoying the day.  How do all of you feel about zoo’s? Goats!

After getting home we popped the lasagna back in the oven.  It was good, but we both avoided the eggplant.  The texture there was just off.  Then we ended up taking Olive for a walk, got a decaf soy latte and planned out a bit of a long weekend plan for later in September and talked about some goals and dreams.  Then we came home and deviated really for the first time, but I don’t feel bad.  We just made up a quick batch of nice cream, kinda chunky money like.  No sugar and the majority being frozen banana there simply isn’t any guilt.

All in all it was a really fantastic day.  I hope you all enjoy your weekend.

2 thoughts on “Day 26… Yup, that’s right, oh so close

  1. I feel like some Zoos do help the animals and create a sort of sanctuary for them, but in general I have always felt so sad about going to zoos and seeing animals in cages, especially the big majestic ones… I feel like when someone profits from showcasing the animals then I don’t feel like supporting that business…
    its a weird situation! I don’t think I will ever go to the zoo and support it, just makes me sad 😦
    just started following you, I have a vegan recipe/lifestyle & Cruelty-free beauty Blog as well, http://www.veganneeds.com
    so glad I found your blog & Happy to connect with you 🙂

    1. Thanks. I’ll totally check it out.

      I’m with you in regards to the paying to promote zoos. We didn’t spend a dime at the National zoo. It’s such a very fine line. We won’t be putting money towards zoos, that’s for sure.

Comments are closed.