Taste Test Tuesday: Gluten-Free Sweet Note Bagels

If you haven’t noticed already, Nick and I love food, and we love grocery shopping and finding new products, or things to try. And if it’s vegan, or vegan and gluten free, then it’s pretty much a guarantee that I’ll buy it. On a recent trip to one of our favorites, Mom’s Organic Market, I snagged a bag of Gluten-Free Sweet Note frozen bagels.

Sweet Note Bagels

I wasn’t really sure what to expect because gluten free can sometimes mean dense, dense, and more dense. Don’t get me wrong, gluten free has come a LONG way over the years, but when you make something gluten free AND vegan, you can sometimes have a big, fat failure.

The directions were simple: keep frozen, and when ready to eat, microwave for about 60 seconds, cool slightly, and then slice and toast. After slicing mine, I decided to add a thin layer of Earth Balance and broil under the broiler until crispy and toasted. After it cooled a bit, I added kite hill chive cream cheese, a sautéed piece of tofu, and Follow Your Heart American Cheese. I must say, I made myself a pretty epic bagel sandwich.

Sweet Note Bagel Sandwich

The bagel was delicious! It was a little more dense than traditional, but not in a way that was off-putting. It was chewy, carb-y, and wonderful! They have quite a few flavors, but my store only carried the plain. I’m looking forward to trying one again soon with some peanut butter because, according to Nick, peanut butter makes everything better.

If you’re vegan and gluten free, or just trying to cut your wheat or gluten intake, I’d highly recommend these bagels! So far, it seems they are an East Coast thing, but you can order them online. I can’t wait for Lil Sis to visit again so she can try them. She is a woman after my own heart who LOVES carbs as much as I do! 😉

One thought on “Taste Test Tuesday: Gluten-Free Sweet Note Bagels

Let's hear it!

