Vegan & Cruelty Free Beauty Favorites

I’m a pretty simple girl for most things, but I LOVE beauty products! I’m always on the lookout for great vegan and cruelty free products to try. There are a lot of companies that are vegan and cruelty free, but perhaps their parent company is not. While I prefer not to buy from those companies, sometimes I still do. I guess it just really depends on the product. My favorite blush, for example, is owned by a parent company that I wouldn’t choose to support. But until I find the perfect replacement, I’ll continue to buy it. You have to make the best choices that you can. Progress, not perfection!

That being said, there are some great resources out there to help you make smart choices when out buying these products. I have this website saved on my phone so it’s always at my fingertips. So handy!

So, without further adieu, here is just a handful of products I use on a pretty much daily basis. Well, except for the conditioner. I try not to wash my hair everyday – it helps keep it healthy and my color stay fresh when I don’t!

Vegan & Cruelty Free Beauty Favorites

{Snow Fairy from lush – seasonal}
I debated on whether or not to share this one. It’s only available from about mid-November to December whenever they run out. But I had to put in here because it is by far my FAVORITE lush product! It smells like cotton candy/bubblegum/amoxicillin. Remember that pink medicine you used to take as a kid? It kind of smells like that, but in a fabulous way! We bought 2 bottles of the largest size this year, so I’ll be able to smell sweet for quite sometime. Bonus: there are tiny flecks of glitter inside. I mean, is that perfect or what?

Vegan & Cruelty Free Beauty Favorites

{9 to 5 Facial Cleanser from lush}
This facial cleanser is the best makeup remover I have ever used. Not only does it smell great, but it’s super gentle, so you can just rub it all over your face, including on your eyes, and it won’t burn or sting. I like to apply it and then wipe my face clean with a warm washcloth. It works on the toughest eye makeup, too, including waterproof mascara! It’s awesome.

Vegan & Cruelty Free Beauty Favorites

{amika: undone texture spray}
I was first introduced to amika from the salon that I used to work for in Iowa. My boss had attended a hair show and brought back a bunch of samples for us to try. I didn’t try this product at the time, but I decided to try it after Kate at The Small Things Blog said how much she loved it. It not only smells divine, but adds just enough of that little something extra to my hair to make it not so flat and plain. I use quite a few products on my hair, but this is one I use a lot. It’s not sticky, or heavy, and it doesn’t make my hair feel like a helmet, either.

Vegan & Cruelty Free Beauty Favorites

{amika: Nourishing Mask}
Okay. This is hands down AMAZING. It, too, smells awesome like the un.done spray, but it’s super thick and it makes my hair feel like silk. I have a lot of thick, coarse hair, and when I use this it makes my feel so smooth. You can use it as a daily conditioner, or you can use it like I do most frequently, as deep conditioner. I’ll wash my hair with shampoo, and after rinsing I’ll apply a about a nickel-sized amount of this to my hair. I’ll leave it one for about 5 minutes while I was wash my body and enjoy the warm water. I’ll usually comb it through with a wide toothed comb that I keep in the shower as well. It’s like magic.

Vegan & Cruelty Free Beauty Favorites

{Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara}
I’ll admit, this one has a slightly embarrassing name (just as my blush does), and I while I don’t agree with it’s claims, it is a pretty awesome mascara. It’s a rich, black color with an hourglass-shaped brush that really grabs a hold of your lashes and gets them coated. I usually curl my lashes with my eyelash curler and then apply a nice, even coat. If I’m going out, or if it’s for a special occasion, I’ll add an extra coat or two, but for everyday, I just stick with one.

Vegan & Cruelty Free Beauty Favorites

Honorable Mentions:
lush Shampoo Bars (we really like the NEW! bar)
Pretty much anything from the Yes.To company (the Grapefruit Scrub is a go-to)

What are some of your favorite vegan and cruelty free beauty products?

3 thoughts on “Vegan & Cruelty Free Beauty Favorites

  1. I LOVE Lush products. We used to have a Lush counter in the Macy’s in Memphis, where I live, but it closed a few years ago. I was so sad! I’ve always wanted to try that Snow Fairy shower gel, but for some reason, I never bought it. I should order some next year! I also need to check out that texture spray. Love the bottle design. I’m such a sucker for pretty packaging.

  2. I recently got a bunch of things from 100% Pure and I really like them. They are pricey but the ingredients are very clean & gentle. You just have to go product by product though, because some are vegetarian due to using beeswax.

Let's hear it!

