Sunday Sips: Black Butte Porter by Deschutes Brewing

Oh man, its fall again.  I LOVE fall.  Its my favorite season and it is finally feeling like it here.  There is a chill in the air, football is on tv, I can start wearing sweaters and jeans and feel comfortable again.  This all goes on to say that I can also feel happy drinking some heavier beers.  This week I’ve got a wonderful porter from Deschutes Brewing.  This is the Black Butte Porter and my oh my was it dark and a pleasure to drink.
Untitled

 

Look at that brew, the picture doesn’t really do it justice, it was so black in the glass.  It had just the smallest hint of a cream colored head.  Its a 5.2% ABV with 30 IBU porter.  It was so full of those smokey malt flavors, but enough hop balance to satisfy my craving for a little bit rounded bite.  There was a bit of a hint of chocolate to it, and it was super creamy in mouth feel.  This made me no longer miss Guinness, it was that good.  I haven’t had a dark beer in awhile since I started loving IPAs, but this takes me back to why I like them so much, easy to drink, goes really well as an after dinner brew, and it just seems like a beer made for taste instead of getting sloshed such as the Miller Lites of the world.  I’m giving it a very solid 4 out of 5.  It was missing some lacing and I would have preferred for it to have a little more head, but you really wouldn’t go wrong with this beer at all.  Enjoy.